Why I Gave up Facebook {UPDATE}

How has it been almost a year since my last blog post?! I’m hanging my head in shame…

Since my last post, I have been Facebook free for nearly a year.

This is huge for me.

I can honestly tell you it has been one of the best decisions I’ve made and I have no intention of ever re-creating an account.

For several months it was simply deactivated until I got a notice via email that someone had logged into my account from another country, i.e. a hacker. So with that, I decided to permanently delete the account.

I have no desire to create another for many of the same reasons I listed in my original post. Much of Facebook is people complaining, arguing, fighting, threatening, horrible news stories, and the list goes on. People also show highlights of the best parts of their lives. That’s great, but it gives a false sense of comparison when one’s life is viewed as “perfect” through the eyes of social media; such a false comparison leads to bigger issues surrounding self-esteem, depression, anxiety, etc.

I still have instagram and snapchat and visit them often, but never to the extent that I did with Facebook. Also, if I ever need the convenience of selling something online, I simply post it to my husband’s FB page or on my instagram.

I feel good knowing I don’t have the anxiety  associated with checking in on other people’s lives. Don’t get me wrong, though, as I still have anxiety in other areas of my life (but that’s a whole other post).

Like I said, I have no intention of re-creating a FB and I recommend it for anyone looking for time away from social media.

I don’t miss it one bit.

 

Tell me what you think!

