Ocular Migraine

The strangest thing happened to me last night (Sunday) and honestly freaked me out.

I had gotten up from the couch to go to the bathroom and within that time I started seeing a fuzzy, flashing light in front of my eyes, particularly my left eye. It was similar to when you look into a bright light and you keep seeing spots of light afterwards. This was different, though, because it didn’t go away after a few blinks and it was like a jagged star shape in front of my eyes.

In addition to that fuzziness, my vision was also blurred. I normally can’t see far away and suddenly I couldn’t focus on what was in front of me (I was knitting, go figure). I quickly popped my contacts out, thinking it was something to do with those, but the fuzziness continued. After a few minutes the fuzzy spots started to go away, but I was faced with another freaky problem — I suddenly couldn’t see through my peripheral vision in my left eye! Taylor was sitting diagonal from me and I couldn’t see him when I was looking to the right at the TV. At this point I was thinking “What the heck is going on?!”

I was trying to describe what was happening to Taylor and making sure that nothing else was going wrong. My peripheral vision eventually returned and the only symptom I had left was a dull headache on the top/right side of my head.

Apparently I had what’s called an Ocular Migraine. I was told by my eye doctor it’s nothing serious. They usually last between 15-30 minutes and vision will return to normal. There really isn’t anything to prevent it from happening and it’s caused by various things such as stress, lack of sleep, staring at a computer for long periods of time, etc. Ocular Migraines can also happen sporadically or in clusters where you have a lot of them within a close span of time.

She said my eyes looked healthy after she checked them out and told me some symptoms to watch out for that would indicate something more serious; such as seeing “floaters” or a gray curtain in front of my eyes. Those symptoms could mean your retina has detached and it’s good to seek help right away.

Thankfully nothing more serious happened or is wrong with my eyes! Since this has never happened to me before, I was pretty freaked out that I couldn’t see out of part of my eye. So this was my excitement (more like terror) for Sunday. If something similar happens to you, definitely seek out a professional physician and double check that everything is A-OK!

xoxo

 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think!

