My Fave Cleansers

I want to talk about something a little different on my blog. Since I’ve tried and failed multiple times to be happy with filming myself on camera talking about these products, I’ve decided I’ll just post about it instead. I don’t want to turn my blog into ALL about makeup and beauty products, just incorporate them every so often.

I love sharing things with other people that I know about and use; whether it be various products I use in my daily life, deals/sales going on in stores, resources for clients, etc.

As you can tell by the title, I want to share with you the cleansers I’m using in my current skin care routine. For those of you who may not know, I have oily skin. I suffer mainly from hormonal breakouts around my time of the month, so I’ve given up trying to avoid them. Using these products, though, keeps my skin as healthy as I can get it to be. Also, I’m by no means an expert, I’m just telling you what works best for me and my skin type.

A couple of years ago I decreased the amount of times I wash my face from twice to once daily. I use water in the shower in the morning and towel dry it afterwards. I use a rotation of the products below nightly; I honestly choose which product to use by simply paying attention to what my skin “feels” like it needs. Some days I won’t wash my face at all with any type of cleanser, only water. I do this on days when I don’t wear makeup or leave home because my skin hasn’t been exposed to those products or the pollution from outside. I’ve found this really helps keep the natural oils already produced by my skin and prevents stripping of those oils.

This slight change in my routine dramatically changed my skin. It’s much less oily and I don’t get “shiny” or “greasy” as the day goes on, especially if I’m wearing makeup.

OK so the first one is a cleanser called Noxzema. I’ve been using this gentle guy ever since I started washing my face. This is a great, inexpensive product that gets the job done when you just want to take your makeup off from the day. It’s a creamy consistency and has a cooling sensation due to the eucalyptus oil that’s in it. Of all the over-the-counter cleansers I’ve used, this is by far the most gentle and it doesn’t strip my skin. In other words, it doesn’t leave my skin feeling tight after using it. You can buy it at pretty much any drugstore; it comes in different sizes, but a 12 ounce jar is $3.97 at Walmart.

The next one is technically an exfoliate, but it stills cleans your skin so I want to mention it. It’s the St. Ives Even & Bright scrub. I’ve never used anything by St. Ives before and I was curious to try this out. I never regularly exfoliated my skin, so I wanted to incorporate a scrub to clear away any bacteria or makeup that could be lingering. I absolutely love this product. You can see in the pictures below that it has a pink lemon & mandarin orange scent and a moderate level exfoliation factor. This scrub isn’t harsh on my skin at all; the beads clean my skin just enough without it leaving my skin tight. I can definitely tell it has helped fade my acne spots and scars and I feel as if I get a deep clean after using it.

I will say that it takes a few rinses to completely wash away all of the product and I’ll have to wipe away any remaining beads with a dry towel. The smell is also very refreshing which is a plus for me. There are different variations of this scrub that have other scents and target different skin issues. I bought mine at Target for $3.89 and I’m sure you can find it at other drugstores.

The last product I want to talk about is a natural one. You can probably guess what it is since I’ve raved about this numerous times in conversation and on my social media. Yep, it’s organic honey. Someone suggested I use this to help combat my oily skin and I couldn’t be happier that I followed her advice. Within the first week of using it I noticed that my skin was less oily and upon asking my then fiance what he thought about my skin he said, “I don’t want to be mean, but it looks less greasy.” Of course I wanted him to be totally honest and I wanted to find out if what I was seeing in the mirror was true– and it was!

I started using the honey every day to cleanse my face and found that by doing so it did eventually start to dry out my skin. I reduced the frequency of using it and I use it more as a mask now rather than an everyday cleanser. I remove any makeup from my skin, wet my skin water, and then apply the honey all over my face. I leave it on long enough for it to dry and for it to really feel sticky before washing it off with water. I’ll brush my teeth or do something else while it dries; it doesn’t take a super long time to dry. It is honey, therefore it’s going to be very sticky and feel weird at first. I got used to it quickly, but if that kind of consistency freaks you out, then this probably isn’t for you.

Raw, organic honey has bacteria-fighting properties that will remove any acne-causing bacteria and, in my experience, also cleanses and brightens the skin. It also has healing properties. When I have a really bad acne spot that is open or needs some help in its healing process, I’ll put a dab of honey on it and keep it on overnight. Then I just wash it off in the shower the next morning. I’ll do this until I feel the spot has healed almost completely.

It’s important to purchase raw, organic honey because it’s in its most natural state. Do not put sugar-filled honey from the little teddy bear container on your face. That isn’t good for your skin. Find a whole foods or natural foods store near you and look for it there. I found mine at Clifton Natural Foods in Cincy for $7.95. Don’t let the price scare you! I’ve had this jar for over a year and it’s just now coming up to the bottom of the jar and it’s expiration date of March 2016. The shelf life is long and you get a lot of product/use out of one jar.

20160110_133415

FYI: The dark stuff under the lid isn’t mold, it’s dried honey.

Clearly I’ve talked a lot about this honey, so I hope you get your hands on some to try out for yourself and see why I’m raving so much about it. If you’ve made it this far, congrats and thanks for sticking through this long post! I’m thinking I want to talk about what moisturizers I use on my skin in my next post. I don’t think that will be quite as long because I think moisturizers are, for the most part, pretty self-explanatory.

Thanks for reading and I hope you found this useful!
xoxo

 

 

Tell me what you think!

