Lots of Love

Two posts in the same week?!

Well I just finished updating some things on here, specifically my knitting page and my about me. I’ll link my knitting page below so it’s easier for you to check it out. Let me know in the comment section if you would rather see newer posts first, instead of the older ones.

OK so let’s get to the real point of this post. I’m going to try to make this as short as possible because I know my posts can get lengthy when I talk about things I have a passion for.

I’ve been posting my knitted items on my Facebook page pretty much since I started to get good at knitting. There’s seriously nothing better than seeing your finished product all pretty and perfect and just how you wanted it to look. You see the item come to life at the end and you can sit with excitement, basking in its glory.

But there’s a lot of work that goes into that knitted gem.

My fellow knitters and crocheters can totally understand this. For those of you who may not know how to knit or crochet, I need to stress this to you:

The amount of time, effort, love, frustration, material, money, and whatever else, that is put into our handmade goodies is priceless.

Priceless in the sense that there is nothing better than owning something that is handmade instead of it being mass-produced.

I cannot tell you how frustrating it can be to work through half of a pattern and mess it up. If you’re a perfectionist like me, this just won’t do and it’s quickly unraveled to begin again. I would much rather have the item look exactly how it should than there be holes or odd stitches in random places.

I will say that that frustration is worth it in the end when I see my finished product… exactly how I envisioned it. The time alone that it can take even the fastest knitter to create something is important for you to understand. Besides mess-ups, it is very time-consuming to create something handmade. I’m only one person and I don’t have a huge factory mass-producing what I’m making. That alone makes each item unique and special and I know that’s why many people would rather buy something handmade over factory-made.

Another thing that is important to understand is that yarn is expensive. A lot of times craft and fabric stores will have sales on certain brands of yarn, but most of the time it’s full price. Knowing that yarn is expensive is important for two reasons:

One: because the cost of the yarn is factored into the price that I set to sell the item for. Two: because it makes the overall product that much more valuable; you’re not getting some crap product made with cheap fabric. It’s good, quality yarn that I’m using to create your item.

Going along with that, the price of an item not only includes cost for the materials, but also for me to make some sort of profit. Not only do I want to get my money back for the cost of materials, but I want to get something in return for my time and effort put into making it. That’s basic business, right?

To give a quick example let’s say I make an infinity scarf that used a total of 3 balls of yarn priced at $5 each. That’s $15 in material alone. Add $5 to ship the item through the USPS, you’re looking at $20. Paying for my time, effort, and the value of a handmade good is usually, for me, priced between $10-$15. That brings the total price to $35 for an infinity scarf. Sounds like a lot, right? Look back at the breakdown of those numbers. When it comes down to it, in reality I’m only making between $10-$15 profit for that scarf. That’s $15 more in my pocket than what I started with just for that one scarf. Do you see what I mean now?

I entitled this post “Lots of Love” because this is what goes into every item I knit, whether it be for myself or others (in this case, more importantly for others). I just want you to understand that I’m not “overpricing” my items just because I can. The beauty and craft of a handmade item is far more valuable than something that is store-bought. So please, don’t let the price deter you from owning such a beautiful handmade item. Keep in mind all of the time, effort, love, frustration, material, and money that went into making it.

I really wanted to write this to give people an idea of what goes into a handmade, knitted item. Too often I’ll have people who are interested in the item that’s pictured and as soon as I tell them the price, they don’t reply anymore. Or in many other cases I’ll write the price in the picture’s caption and no one will be interested in it after seeing that price. It’s so important to keep these things in mind when seeing the price of a handmade item. There’s a lot more to that number than you may think.

Here is my knitting page.

 

Tell me what you think!

