Still Beautiful

I’ve found yet another video that portrays the constant struggle that women go through who suffer from acne. It’s been floating around my Facebook feed and I’ve passed over it until finally deciding to watch it. Here it is.

I’m not going to beat a dead horse by making this post incredibly long and drawn out. I’m going to get to the point here. This video accurately shows not only the internal struggle women have with their acne, but also the judgement they receive from others around them.

Further frustrating is that when a woman does try to feel better about herself through the use of makeup, she’s further judged and chastised for being “fake”, or even better is that now she is covering up her acne, she’s suddenly beautiful and appealing.

WRONG.

A woman is not beautiful simply because you can’t see her acne under her makeup. She’s beautiful because she felt confident about herself that day to look in the mirror and think “I want to make myself look as beautiful as I feel.”

My own internal struggle is bad enough, I certainly don’t need others reminding me of my insecurities. I struggled with this judgement from those around me more so in high school rather than in my life now. For fear of making my acne worse and slowing the healing process, I wouldn’t put makeup over it. I remember the comments, “What’s on your face?” or “What’s wrong with your skin?” or “Look at that pizza face.”

It’s O.K. I forgive those people for saying those things. Really, I do. I can sit here and feel sorry for myself when I have horrible cyst-like spots on my face, but I’m not going to. The man who loves me still calls me beautiful and makes me feel beautiful 24/7. No matter what my skin looks like. And that’s enough for me.

Some days my skin needs a break from makeup. A chance to breath. Yeah, you can see my acne, but I don’t care what anyone else thinks. All that matters is what I think about myself. Other days you’ll see me in a full face of makeup because I want to feel even more beautiful than I already do. Yeah, I’m covering up those red spots. Not because I’m ashamed, but because those spots don’t define who I am as a person. I want to look at myself in the mirror and see my skin for the beauty it really has.

To a woman who has no acne at all, I’m not bashing you. Your skin is just as beautiful. I’ll still have a little part of me that is jealous of those who don’t struggle with acne everyday. But I also know that those acne-free people have their own, other insecurities that I can’t see.

Bottom line is this: See beyond a woman’s, and man’s, acne and see them for who they really are. The way their skin looks doesn’t define who they are as a person.

Tell me what you think!

