Slow Down

Two weeks and one day ago, on Tuesday April 22nd, our lives were abruptly halted.

I told my Mom that I was reminded of the song by Mat Kearney called “Closer to Love“. The opening lyrics go:

She got the call today
One out of the gray
And when the smoke cleared
It took her breath away
She said she didn’t believe
It could happen to me
I guess we’re all one phone call from our knees

That last line is so incredibly true. Our lives are so fragile, that at any instant, something can harm us. Whether it’s a heart attack, a stroke, a car wreck, it changes our lives and everyone else’s lives too. I got the call on that day when my Dad was in a head-on car wreck on a road close to my hometown. I say “wreck” because this was no “accident.” The other driver was passing in a “no passing zone”, double yellow line, on a hill, and was in my Dad’s lane in an instant. Leaving him with nowhere to go.

It’s truly by the grace of God that he’s still alive.

He had to be cut from his vehicle and air-cared to a nearby hospital because of his injuries. He’s been in and out of ICU for the past two weeks and is finally on the mend after almost dying for a second time. I keep praying that this is the last time he’ll have to be in ICU and he’ll be able to go home soon. We’re all ready to get off of this emotional roller coaster.

We’ve all broken down many times, but especially so when my Dad did after seeing the news stories and pictures of the two cars. The newswoman’s words “This accident could have been avoided” struck my Dad hard. All of this pain, trauma, heartache, stress, fright, anger, and sadness was literally 100% avoidable if the other guy hadn’t been in such a hurry.

If you’re someone who is close to me or who follows me on Facebook, you already knew what this post was going to be about. I entitled this post “Slow Down”, though, for the very thing the other driver didn’t do. Although I was aware of rushed, reckless drivers before, I’m even more aware of them now. Every time I’m out driving I see at least a handful of people almost hit either me or someone else because they’re in such a hurry to get nowhere. Have you ever noticed when someone passes you on the road because you’re going too slow for them? Or perhaps you’re the passer? Have you come to a stoplight and you or that other person is at the very same stoplight, each of you no farther ahead than the other person?

My point is this: Rushing somewhere doesn’t save you any time at all. Slow down, take your time, and don’t endanger your life and the lives of others. The guy who was in such a hurry to pass those cars and instead ended up hitting my Dad? He’ll now have to endure months of recovery and will likely have other repercussions that will impact his life. The question we’re all wanting answered is why he felt so compelled to pass multiple cars in that section of the road… what was he in such a hurry for he couldn’t wait thirty more seconds?

We’ll probably never know and I’ll continue to pray for him that this was his wake up call for him to drive more safely.

Tell me what you think!

