My Race

Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus.
-Hebrews 12:1-2 NKJV

[Most mornings…I drag myself out of bed and…run…As the sun is rising, I am running and…my body is groaning…My knee hurts. My hip is stiff. My ankles complain…I’ve learned that I have three options. Go home…Meditate on my hurts until I start imagining I’m having chest pains…Or…keep running and watch the sun come up…
If I watch God’s world go from dark to golden…the same happens to my attitude. The pain passes and the joints loosen… Everything improves as I fix my eyes on the sun. Wasn’t that the counsel of the Hebrew epistle– “looking unto Jesus”?

This is what my desk calendar says for the day. I was just a few days behind on turning the pages and turned to the one for today. It’s 11:22 p.m. but still today nonetheless. Tired from being up since seven a.m. this morning, I read this and imagined myself doing the same thing. Running early in the morning and watching the sun rise. I have never actually done this because I’m just too tired to get up this early…but I still imagine myself doing this and watching the new day unfold before me. God’s day He has given me…

It’s so hard to stop and look around at how beautiful everything is when I’m so busy with homework, rushing to class for an exam, or trying to do things around the apartment. Everything God has created in my life and around me is so beautiful. I just need to remember to stop and look around once in awhile to take it all in. I think of God often and most nights I fall asleep thinking, “If I don’t wake up to tomorrow, I want nothing more than to go to Heaven to meet Him.” I end up waking up every morning, and even when I grudgingly get up at seven for my eight a.m. class, I am so thankful for the new day given to me because we are never promised tomorrow….

That verse….”Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus.” What a powerful verse. One that couldn’t have been brought to me at a better time. No matter how bad of a day I’m having or how tired I am, I just need to look unto Jesus and my strength is renewed…. His plan that He has created for me in my life is one I need to continue on with endurance and strength until I have done what I need to do in this life….never taking my eyes off of Jesus.

I’m in no way a perfect person. I have sinned so many times in my life…God knows I’m going to do those things before I even do them. His unwavering forgiveness is something I just can’t fathom. I need to straighten things out in my life and look unto Jesus every day that I’m here. Every day is a new chance to right the wrongs I have done in the past…

Here goes my race.

Tell me what you think!

