New Year’s Resolution?

A lot of times I think and worry too much. This is something I’ve been trying to work on for awhile; my worry always leads to stress which is never a good thing. Most of the time it’s just worrying about things that haven’t even happened yet, that’s the awful part. Nine times of ten they turn out perfectly fine and I had nothing to worry about in the first place. Silly, right? Staying busy helps, especially when I’m at school & work, but being on winter break from classes has given me time to think about TOO much. If I made New Year’s resolutions the one I would make would be to worry less and live in the now.

Not everything I think about is completely awful and worrisome…

Lately I’ve really been thinking about where I’m at in my life right now. With the holidays and all that, I’ve loved spending time with my family and especially my boyfriend. I think I would be a much less happier person if he wasn’t in my life. So then I wonder… if we hadn’t met in our math class in high school, would we have ever crossed paths any other time? Would I have met an even different, halfway decent guy instead? If we went to separate colleges, would we still be together? Things like this assure me that God has plans for EVERYTHING. If He wants something to happen in my life, He’ll find a way to make it happen. Thinking about the decisions I’ve made in my life in the past have shown me that my life could be entirely different if I hadn’t made those decisions like I did.

I’m definitely a thinker & a talker…I just choose when to do one or the other. My thoughts may come across and random and scattered when I write, but hopefully I get the message across O.K. Anyway, I definitely need to put this Bible verse everywhere around my room so I will always remember it: 

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. 1 Peter 5:7 NLT

Same with this one:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7 NLT

These verses remind me that I don’t need to worry about everything, yet when I do think about things like my past or where I’m at in my life now, I can & should thank Him for those things. My first instinct is to worry and fret about everything. But once I calm down and tell those thoughts to stop…I give them to God and pray that everything will turn out just fine. All the time and energy I spend worrying can be used elsewhere and much more productively. Thinking about my life and thanking God for everything I have makes me feel so very humble and blessed. Now I need to learn to give my worries to Him. Just some things I need to remember and will try to improve on in my life…

Tell me what you think!

